Entries Open for Awards Honouring Ireland’s Leading Local Journalists

Local Ireland, the organisation which represents print and online news publishers around the country, has launched its annual awards to celebrate regional journalism.

The 2023 Local Ireland Media Awards, which are in their eighth year, will honour the achievements of journalists, photographers and advertising staff.

This year’s competition will be the sixth to be sponsored by the National Lottery, which has its own award for Best Community Story.

President of Local Ireland, Dan Linehan said: “The Local Ireland Media Awards have become the gold standard in recognising excellence in regional reporting, photography and creative design.

“They also acknowledge the vital part played by local newsrooms in covering news, features, sport, courts, councils and all that is important in communities.

“Local newspapers serve their respective communities every day in digital and weekly in print. The awards are an opportunity to showcase the best talent across the country.”

Judging for the awards will be chaired for the first time by the respected journalist, broadcaster and author, Alison O’Connor.

Ms O’Connor writes a weekly column for the Sunday Times, is a regular commentator on radio and television and her most recent book, It’s a Yes, co-written with the directors of It’s a Yes, examines the successful Repeal the 8th campaign.

She said: “I am delighted to chair the judging panel for the Local Ireland Media Awards. Local newspapers are the lifeblood of a community, informing, educating and entertaining the readers.”

CEO of the awards sponsor, the National Lottery, Andrew Algeo said: “We’re delighted once again to be associated with the Local Ireland Media Awards to recognise the remarkable journalists and media professionals who tirelessly serve our local communities.

“Just like the National Lottery, which empowers and transforms lives through our Good Causes, local media is a beacon of inspiration and catalyst for positive change within our communities.

“Through their unwavering dedication, local media outlets champion the stories that would otherwise remain untold, shedding light on the extraordinary individuals, events, and initiatives that shape the fabric of our society. We are incredibly proud of our long-term association with the Local Ireland Awards and we look forward to celebrating the exceptional work of local media. ”

Executive Director of Local Ireland Bob Hughes said the awards ceremony would be held on September 21st at the Bloomfield House Hotel, near Mullingar.

He added: “I’m delighted that one of the country’s finest journalists, Alison O’Connor, will be chairing our judging panel this year and I want to thank our outgoing chair Áine Kerr, for her dedication and enthusiasm over the past two years.

“Last year’s event was a great evening and I’m very pleased to announce that our Master of Ceremonies will again be the incomparable sports broadcaster and personality Marty Morrissey.”

As well as Alison O’Connor, the judging panel will include broadcaster and journalist Dearbhail McDonald, Emeritus Professor at TUD Michael Foley, Dawn Wheatley of DCU School of Communications, Managing Director of Kinetic Ireland Andrew Sinclair, photographer and former Irish Times Picture Editor Frank Miller, broadcaster and writer Valerie Cox, and journalist and author PJ Cunningham.



Leave a Reply